New owner rom Italy

Give us a clue - who are you?

New owner rom Italy

Postby Yuza » Tue Sep 26, 2017 7:27 am

Hi all, just bought a 1990 Dr Big 800cc, will be in my garage next weekend

44K km, complete and running quite well, but in need of a restoration (bad paint and few traces of rust here and there). Some noise from the timing chain, it seems, but I am new to DRs so may be normal...

My plan is to "retro-mod" it, upgrading few parts (front fork, brakes, exhaust) while refurbishing

I have read about fitment of a DRZ fork, seems not so complicated and would allow an easy front brake upgrade if the full front end is installed

Anyway, any advise is welcome, on fork and other parts. I have already given a look at DR shop....lots of nice stuff!

Thx
Yuza
Yuza
Regular
Regular

Re: New owner rom Italy

Postby Deano » Tue Sep 26, 2017 1:29 pm

Hello and welcome, Plenty of guys on here that can help with the technical stuff, ask and they will advise. :tup:
I have my wife's permission to keep breathing!!
Deano
Site Supporter & all round Good Egg!

Postby Yuza » Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:02 pm

Thanks. I am already screening topics and looking for some good advise on the mods
Yuza
Regular
Regular

Postby nug » Tue Sep 26, 2017 10:05 pm

You may have already seen my thread http://www.drbig.info/forum/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=1482&hilit=drz+fork+swap&start=110

Any questions just ask :tup:
nug

Postby Yuza » Wed Sep 27, 2017 7:35 am

I did, in fact!

I am not 100% sure I have understood the problem you had with the stem.

I understood you have used the original stem from the big and yokes from DRZ, and needed some adaptation because of different sizes. Did you weld a stopper on the stem tube because DRZ yokes would have hit the frame otherwise?

Would it be possible to use yokes and stem from DRZ and just change bearings? Any big issue with diameter or lenght?

I'd like to use a full fron end (including wheel and brake) from a DRZ, if I manage to find one
Yuza
Regular
Regular