Starting system

Questions regarding the DR750

Starting system

Postby Agiora » Mon Jul 17, 2017 4:10 pm

Hi guys,

My name is Alessandro and I recenty bought a dr 750. I knew there was some work to do, indeed I had to repair the stator and starter gear. Still after these repairs the bike won't start, I think it's due to some electrics parts. I checked the starter connecting it with the battery and skipping all the wires in between. Since the left side is open, I can clearly see that the starter works, therefore it must be something in between the battery and the starter.
When I try to start the bike, the starter solenoid makes some electirc noise, by connecting the two bolts with a screwdriver, at first I only see some sparks, but still the starter doesen't move. I know it's a common problem, but this bike is new to me, and I'm not really good with wires :crazy: .

Cheers
Agiora
Virgin - be gentle
Virgin - be gentle

Re: Starting system

Postby BigBob » Mon Jul 17, 2017 6:06 pm

Is it possible that the starter cogs are jammed and not allowing the starter to turn over?
BigBob
Admin
Admin

Postby Agiora » Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:29 pm

The starter works if connected with the battery, it spins. I think is something in between that blocks the electricity. How do I check if the starter soldenoid works?
Agiora
Virgin - be gentle
Virgin - be gentle

Postby BigBob » Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:22 am

There are two wires from the decompressor lever that go to connectors near the headlight that activate the solenoid.
Most of us just connect the two in the headlight together to eliminate any possible problems there.
Also do the stupid clutch switch wires at the same time ....... another less thing to go wrong
It is possible to bypass the starter solenoid, check out the wiring diagram here viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2224
A couple of times I`ve had this problem I`ve fixed it by taking off the small green wire on the starter relay and I joined the terminal to earth and it all worked again.
BigBob